The Underwater Tour Awards 2022 Winners

The winners of the third annual Underwater Tour Awards have been announced.

The prestigious annual international competition encourages and inspires passion for photography, exploration and discovery from behind the lens and helps raise awareness of the world’s incredible, fragile marine and aquatic inhabitants and their environments.  For the first time the Underwater Tour Awards partnered with environmental education and action organisation, Take 3, and introduced a new novice category, The take 3 for the Sea Contest.  Proceeds from registration fees and additional donations were given to Take 3.

Led by Convenor Darren Jew, Canon Master and six-time winner of the AIPP’s Professional Nature Photographer of the Year, the international judging panel: Amanda Blanksby, William Tan, Dr Richard Smith, Russell Ord and Brett Lobwein judged hundreds of images submitted by photographers from all over the world. 

“Each year the competition grows, and we are delighted with the high calibre of submissions,” said Darren Jew.  “The finalists’ gallery takes us on a remarkable underwater tour, showcasing the fine work of competing underwater wildlife photographers and celebrating the natural wonders of the underwater world”.

The Guru Awards – Photographic Competition

The only international photography competition of its kind to incorporate a systematic Ethical Review for images submitted, the Underwater Tour Awards Team is committed to ensuring the natural world is depicted both creatively and honestly, with due regard shown to the welfare of all marine life and habitats.   All shortlisted images entered were subject to the competition’s Ethics Review process, conducted by renowned Marine biologist and author, Dr Richard Smith, before moving to the first round of judging. 

And the winners are …

The Guru Grand Prize 

The Guru Grand Prize celebrates a great photographer, not just one great photo and is awarded to the photographer who attains the highest level of achievement from six entries across three or more of the six competition categories.


Gabriel Guzman, Australia

Joergen Rasmussen, SingaporeAdvertisementsAdvertisements